Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Increase Horse Power on 03 Venture

DOWN ,n DIRTY
08-25-2009, 08:26 PM
Hi folks, I'm a newbie and I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas to get more horse power out of my 2003 Venture?

roadrunner2
08-25-2009, 10:45 PM
Hi folks, I'm a newbie and I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas to get more horse power out of my 2003 Venture?

I don't want to really rain on your parade, but the hp you can gain on these 3.4L engines (In my mind) isn't worth the time or cost. The computers have to be reprogrammed too.

I've read posts in the past where guys have tried to add stuff but only gained a few hp.

gearhead514.2008
09-19-2009, 08:52 PM
I have one of these vans and I'm kinda a horsepower junkie like yourself. I had to put a new engine in my van due to the dreaded intake gaskets. I had a freshly rebuilt engine when I did this. I took the exhaust completely off and gutted the catalytic converters since they were melted anyway. I then removed both mufflers, and yes there are two. I put a dynomax muffler in place of the larger one and a piece of straight pipe in place of the smaller one. Then I bought a universal cold air filter like the ones at Autozone and installed it on the end of the flexible, rubber intake duct. Remove the old filter and retainer. Unfortunately you have to leave in the air cleaner box due to the PCM being in there. The cold air filter will rest on this and keep the filter in place. After all of this, I could step on the pedal and smoke the wheels until it shifted. It was a lot faster. However, there is one downfall, your check engine light will stay on because your rear O2 sensor will throw a catalyst efficiency code due to no catalytic converter. I know its not a major horsepower increase, but every little bit helps. Good luck!