Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

I just bought her and she's dead already?

1999BlazerLT
06-14-2009, 10:10 PM
Well, i'm a newbie here, since I just bought this blazer 3 days ago. '99 LT AWD, and this afternoon, she dies out of the blue braked at a stop light (in a turning lane. ARGH.). I spent most of my free and immediately available cash getting the truck in the first place, so now i'm kinda up a creek with barely a paddle. It seems like its got most of the symptoms of the ignition switch/harness, I have all of my dash lights, nothing intermittent, prndl shifts, ect. and I can hear the fuel pump whining, dash says i've got a low battery, at about 1/4 position but lights seem bright and all my windows seem as quick as when I got her.
She won't start, she'll try and try (not to the point of frying the starter), but I haven't been able to get it started since. When I tried, it did crank strong, and not like a dead/dying battery at all.
I don't want to throw anymore money away than I have to, and I do want to keep her, despite this. How does this sound to you? I was looking online and it seemed like the crank sensor can cause the same issue? I already knew i'd have to replace the drivers side hub bearing (steering feels kinda loose, clunks one in a while and occasionally on slow turns the abs seems like it's kicking on. Along with the feeling like i'm being blown around by the wind), but I wasn't expecting this.
Or should I just go back to my '91 rusty but trusty S-10 before it's too late? (Yes, I realize i'm asking a blazer forum.) :sarcasmsign:

old_master
06-14-2009, 10:43 PM
Welcome to the forum! Your 1999 has OBDII engine controls with the CSFI fuel injection system, totally different system than your '91. If you don't own a fuel pressure tester, you'll need one, as fuel pressure is critical on these engines. Most auto parts stores sell them for around $40 and Harbor Freight has an inexpensive one for under $20.