Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

New to Automotive Modeling, a few Qs

Iron Eagle
05-18-2009, 05:15 PM
Hi AFers!

I am new to the world of automotive modeling but have been building plastic aircrafts for a long time so I understand the fundamentals of plastic modeling. I am currently working on a Fujimi 1/24 Mercedes SL 500 and have a few questions that someone can hopefully help with. I already searched the forums but mostly came up with others' builds and inconclusive results.

I'm used to using airbrushes and prefer to keep it that way. It seems like many modelers on this board use spray cans to achieve phenomenal results, but are there any easily-accessible airbrush paints/primer you recommend? How about clears parts like the lights?

I'd like to get some aftermarket rims for my build. I know HLJ and Scale Production, but are there any other online shops that sell rims, preferably located in the US? Most of the cars I have in my collection are "modern" BMW, Mercedes, and Ferrari and I tend to like classy yet stylish rims that resemble the real ones, as opposed to 35 inch pimping ones.

The Fujimi kit does not have any interior door details. Are there any aftermarket sets for that?

Any other suggestions regarding automotive modeling in general?

TIA!

Cold_Fire
05-18-2009, 05:28 PM
When painting cars / bikes you can have most times the added satisfaction of using a perfect match for the color that was used on the real thing. This gets you to the automotive finishes world, or to some modelling shops / brands who offer these paints in small jars (Zero Paints, Model Color Worx, ScaleColors)

You can also use any other modelling paints, usually the most important part of the finish is the varnish, where automotive clearcoat will give you the best finishes.

You can work with clear parts as you work with aircraft canopies. If you need to paint something you'll need some transparent paints, tamiya or gunze sangyo have them.