b16a will not start, please help, give me some ideas

big tex84
03-20-2009, 10:08 PM
I just finished installing my b16a non-obd into my 89 std civic hatch. I have gone over and over and over my wiring. my issue is, I turn the key and the engine turns, but it will not start. no codes, and the fuel is getting to the fuel rail. I have spark on all four plugs. this is my first b-series please help me, ive spent too much time and money for this to not run. i have my suspicions on what is wrong, but please give me some ideas and pointers just incase im wrong. also if I put my hand over the intake, and block it off, after the engine turns a couple of times it hits for like half a second and acts like its gonna start but doesent. also one more thing as I am new to b-series, when the key is just in the on position, I can hear a faint whine/humm around the intake manifold, is this normal, please help I am getting discouraged and desperate.

ctwright
03-20-2009, 10:27 PM
check your timing, and double check that you have your plug wires correct for the firing order it should be 1-3-4-2

big tex84
03-20-2009, 11:08 PM
just curiosity, but would a vacuum leak cause it to not start? im gonna check that tommorrow, but its one of those things I am curious about

big tex84
03-21-2009, 05:11 AM
bump

big tex84
03-21-2009, 02:58 PM
bump

big tex84
03-21-2009, 02:59 PM
come on guys the timing is dead on, wat else?

big tex84
03-21-2009, 06:06 PM
alright i sprayed some carb cleaner into the intake and it started for like half a second, then i tryed again with no carb cleaner and it started but it was shakin real bad like it was only on 1 cylinder or something, and i had to hold it to the floor to keep it going, it threw a code 21 vtec spool-wtf? when i hold my hand over the intake it starts for like a sec but it doesnt shake, its smooth. im thinkin its a vacuum leak somewhere, but how do I check if I cant get it started?

ctwright
03-21-2009, 06:38 PM