Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Job Workforce and Age

david-b
01-20-2009, 11:53 AM
Story time...
One of my favorite teachers from my college was super smart. He was a freelance network engineer who has designed huge nationwide networks, had his own company, set up security cameras in numerous places such as cell phone shops and night clubs, taught 3 classes at my college and did countless other jobs also. I took both of his networking classes and admired this guy pretty strongly, as so did the rest of my department. Anytime we had any questions, programming, networking... whatever, he was the man to come to. He's about 50 years old, well established, nice house, married, kids, the works.

After I graduated, the school decided to drop the networking classes (idiots) and put him out of a job there. All the other companies he did work for decided to go with other companies, younger bigger companies charging less. Long story short, he's now completely unemployed.

The ironic thing is, the kids that he taught are the ones who are taking away his jobs. He was spreading the knowledge by teaching, and now he's unemployed because of it. He can't find a job neither because we're (the young people) are taking the jobs for less pay and we're 'fresher'. And the blame goes to the economy being shotty.

That gets me thinking... WTF! Here I am, 2 years out of college with a bachelors now and working for a decent size company making decent money and working on getting my own company off the ground. Whats to say that things like this aren't going to happen to me (or any of us for that matter). We all have our own knowledge, but younger people will come along and take our jobs. It's just mind-boggling that someone as experienced as my old teacher can't get a job.

I'm just rambling my :2cents:

Blackcrow64
01-20-2009, 03:18 PM