Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1st car: Paint questions

vaindioux
01-11-2009, 03:45 PM
Hi

I am not new to modeling but I am new to car modeling, there are a few steps which I am not familiar with and have questions.
I have read a bunch of faqs and searched the forums too.

1) Where do I buy a polishing kit? Is the wax to shine at the end in the kit too? Can I buy one at autozone or wall-mart or is it strictly a hobby store item? I will use sprayed lacquers for the car body. (You can tell I am clueless about cars.)

2) Are acrylic hobby paints good enough for other parts of the car (Not the body), I mean Tamiya or Testors type paints? Do I purchase these paints flat or gloss ? (I am experienced airbrushing acrylics. I don't want to use enamels don't mention them.)

3) Do you paint the inside of the car body ? Do you use the same color inside as outside?

4) Do you use a respirator when spraying lacquers? Can I spray in my garage with door open instead?

My first car model is Aoshima "Mazda Savannah RX-7" (Kit #038208)

That's it for now

Thanks a lot

Patrick

MPWR
01-11-2009, 05:02 PM
1- Skip the polishing kit for now. It is really not necessary, especially for your first few builds. It is a fantastic way to add complication and frustration.

Concentrate on putting the paint on in light, even coats. A dozen mist coats always beats 2-3 heavy 'wet' coats. Use the hot water trick to warm the paint cans before spraying- it makes a terrific difference. (The spray lacquers you're using are Tamiya, I hope?)

Also, do not try to apply the body paint all at once. Don't even try to put it on in the same day. Give it a mist coat or two, and then wait an hour before the next mistcoat or two. Patience and technique will take you far. It just takes some investment in time. Bodies cannot be painted quickly (at least not well! :grinno: ).

2- Acrylics are fantastic for the rest of the car. I wouldn't recommend anything else.