Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

Timing Adjustment

tmob2009
01-02-2009, 11:38 PM
I have a 91 Caprice w/ 305 TBI and I want to set the timing. I have read all of the threads that have to do with this and can't find one that shows or tells you were the bolt is that needs to be undone in order to move the distributor. I also am not sure where the connection is that I'm supposed to disconnect in order to set the timing. I know what you are thinking why don't I just buy a repair manual. I'm a student with no money but I want my car to be in tip top shape. Thank You for any help.

Blue Bowtie
01-03-2009, 05:03 PM
If the timing has never been moved, it should still be at 0. You might want to check this before moving the distributor, just to avoid opening a can of worms which can never be re-canned.

For most models, there should be a flat 4-wire connector on the distributor base, adjacent to a 2-wire connector. The 4-wire connector is the EST system. Disconnect that to bypass the EST to check or set the base timing.

If your engine does not have the 4-wire EST connector on the distributor, it would have a single brown/white wire along the firewall near the fuse/relay center on the right (passenger) side inner fender with a WeatherPack connector in it. Disconnect the connector to check or set the base timing as described below.