88 Jetta starts, idles rough, but no accelerator response

bcatt
01-01-2009, 01:34 PM
I just bought an 88 Jetta Slalom, it's in pretty good condition but does need a bit of work to get it running it's best, and recently I've run into some troubles that have me completely stumped since I'm very new to auto DIYing.

I don't know if this is related or not, but in the two or so weeks leading to the current problem there were a few times when my car randomly lost power when accelerating and felt like it might stall, but returned to normal after a few seconds. It then had one incident where the coolant light went on while I was driving, but I was close to my destination, got there, parked, and everything was fine the next time I drove it. A couple days after that incident, one of my lights came on (can't remember which one, sorry) and my car stalled, but started back up and drove fine with no warning lights coming back on. Another couple days later I stalled when trying to accelerate from a full stop and had a hell of a time getting the car to start again, but it drove fine once I did get it started back up.

I was also starting to have trouble starting the car in the morning, and on one particular morning when I was running late, I pumped the gas pedal a few times hoping it would help the car start...well, the car eventually started, but I also lost pressure in the gas pedal. The pedal is completely limp and moving it has no effect on the RPMs. The car also seems to idle much more roughly than it did previously. I have started the car several times since that incident (to see if it was something that needed to just be waited out), and it starts up with no problem at all, but still has a very rough idle, and no change to the gas pedal. I can move the car in first gear and reverse by slipping the clutch. It doesn't stall while I'm idling it nor when I'm creeping on the clutch, and is not giving me the trouble it previously did with starting it.