Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Polishing with Micro-Mesh

khairy1974
12-19-2008, 01:49 AM
Hi all....

First of all, i am a beginner in modelling...picking up this hobby in my early thirties.....

My biggest question is:-
How do I sand the body of my car without sanding the edges....
This comes after the paint job have been completely removed after sanding...
I am using Micromesh...and is there any tricks/tactics in doing the sanding?

klutz_100
12-19-2008, 02:14 AM
Use he micromesh/sanding paper wet, rub lightly, cover edges with strips of masking tape before sanding and use smaller pieces to rub in tight/awkward places.

There is nearly always small amounts of burn-through in my experience but these are usually easily fixed.

It's worth reading this very good talk-through by CFNet HERE (http://www.cifesystem.com/911-1.html)

MPWR
12-19-2008, 09:14 AM
In my experience, there are no real surefire secrets or tricks to using micromesh. Taping edges can help, along with vigilant use of caution, but as klutz_100 points out it seems nearly impossible to escape with paint covering all edges and corners. Some people seem to be better at avoiding it than others, but it is truly an endemic problem with micromesh. It's further exacerbated by the fact that paint is simply not as thick on edges as it is elsewhere- most paints (lacquers especially) pull away somewhat from edges- so the paint there is thin before you start grinding it.

Micromesh seems to be frequently presented as the one and only way to create a perfect shine on a painted body- but it simply isn't true. There certainly are other ways of going about it, that yield equal or superior results to micromesh. Personally I hate the stuff, and haven't used it in years. By spraying smooth layers of paint and then polishing with a less aggressive agent (I use Tamiya coarse compound), it's much easier to avoid burning through edges.