Page updated on 11-17-2017

Newbie Upgrades 98 Integra GS-R STOCK

10below
09-28-2008, 02:17 PM
Advice needed...I'm a total newbie. What should I do to my stock 98 Integra GS-R?

The story: I've owned my stock 98 Integra GSR all these 10 years, 86K miles, and love it so. But the performance is not like it used to be, and I'm way due for a timing belt replacement which got me thinking...Why not do some upgrades and come out with some killer performance. I don't race, and I'm not looking for anything flashy. (I don't need people to look at my car and drool.) I just want it to perform alongside some new cars (like the RSX).

What I want: First and foremost, KILLER 0 to 60 acceleration. Second, SWEET power when I'm already up to speed (the power needed to go from 70 to 80 for passing). Third, GOOD handling on curves. Fourth, braking (as needed to keep me safe). Fifth, top speed (not very important to me since I don't race - at max I go 90 on the highway). Last, the extras (fancy tail-lights, etc).

So, if I was to spend $5000...what should I do? How about $10,000? $15,000?
At what point would socking more $ into my Integra not be worth it?
And lastly, hypothetically, if I had to choose between upgrading my Integra now, or just waiting and buying a Porsche Cayman S in a couple years...what should I do?

Thanks all for your input!

pithi69
11-02-2008, 06:23 PM
I would atleast do headers/exhaust & intake. Most NOOBs already have that done..

R32GTRLegend
11-21-2008, 09:02 PM