Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Laquer Question

84 El Camino SS
09-09-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi I am new to modeling and I was curious if it is alright to spray future floor polish over a laquer finish before the final clear coat. Sounds like a stupid question but I put alot of prep work into this car and I don't wan't to mess it up. The paint I am using is a Dark, metallic, Fathom Green from Model Master's Custom Laquer System and I will be spraying the Ultra-Gloss clear that goes with it after the detail painting and decaling.

stevenoble
09-09-2008, 03:49 PM
Hi I am new to modeling and I was curious if it is alright to spray future floor polish over a laquer finish before the final clear coat. Sounds like a stupid question but I put alot of prep work into this car and I don't wan't to mess it up. The paint I am using is a Dark, metallic, Fathom Green from Model Master's Custom Laquer System and I will be spraying the Ultra-Gloss clear that goes with it after the detail painting and decaling.

Why do you want to spray Future on the model before the final clear coat? Is it to aid the fitting of the decals so that they go onto a gloss surface? If the green metallic paint you are using is already gloss then I would just apply your decals straight onto this and use the Ultra Gloss clear over them, no need to apply future at all.However if the green is a flat finish and you need to gloss it up before the decals I would just spray a few light coats of the Ultra Gloss clear and omit the Future altogether.You never know how lacquer clear will react over the Future.

ZoomZoomMX-5
09-09-2008, 04:25 PM
Where in the world did you get this idea?

Testors lacquers are very mild, they are not going to damage plastic.

There is absolutely no need to use Future for any reason. You have the correct paint and the correct clear. Use it!

84 El Camino SS
09-09-2008, 04:42 PM