Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

need ideas and/or reassurance PLEASE (no start)

focusedblur
08-20-2008, 01:51 PM
Hello everybody, I'm a newbie here so please excuse me if I posted in the wrong area or anything like that. Well, I have a '91 Nissan Altima GXE...it has been stalling the last couple weeks when I come up to stop lights, I put in a new fuel filter and it helped for a few days, then it started doing it once again but this time I was losing battery power, so I replaced the alternator and it was back on track but still idling rough and stalling sometimes, but it always started right back up. Now today I was driving to work and got a few miles from home and the engine just cut out when I was accelerating up to speed, so I pulled off to the side only to have no start. The engine cranks but no fire. I towed it home and started tearing into the fuel pump, I took the lines off the pump and turned the key to "on" and gas squirted out of the outlet where the line hooks up, but it didnt seem like very high pressure (I don't know what kind of pressure it's supposed to have). So my question is: can a fuel pump be junked but still squirt out a little gas when turned on?
Is there anything else I should look into?
Any help at all would be VERY appreciated, thanks for your time...

nissandoc
08-20-2008, 04:49 PM
sounds more like the distributor than tha fuel pump. take off tha cap and rotor button then pull off the black plastic cover. if oil runs out then you'll need a distributor. also, nissan didnt build an altima in 91'. is this a typo?

focusedblur
08-22-2008, 06:58 PM