Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

'99 Z24 alternator fried. Need helpful instructions on how to replace it.

Fixxxer1
08-12-2008, 06:13 PM
My '99 5 speed chevy Z24 (2.4 litre) recently died on me. I bought a new battery in May, so I figure it's my alternator that's pooched. Wondering if anyone knows the right kind of alternator to buy and has any insight as to how easy / hard it is to replace. And could possibly give me a step-by-step walk through as this is my first time replacing an alternator.

J-Ri
08-13-2008, 03:12 PM
My '99 5 speed chevy Z24 (2.4 litre) recently died on me. I bought a new battery in May, so I figure it's my alternator that's pooched. Wondering if anyone knows the right kind of alternator to buy and has any insight as to how easy / hard it is to replace. And could possibly give me a step-by-step walk through as this is my first time replacing an alternator.

Before you go throwing parts at it, check the charging voltage. It should have 13.5v minimum. If it's lower, turn on the headlights, computer controlled alternators may not charge unless there is a load somewhere.

If it is the alternator that's bad, it's very easy to replace on these. Just disconnect the battery, remove the belt (replace now if it's cracking), remove both electrical connectors, remove the bolts holding the alternator on the engine, and you're half way there. Installation is the reverse of removal.

I will only use Bosch alternators.

muff34
08-13-2008, 04:13 PM
Another alternative is to have your own alt rebuilt(if you don`t mind the down time). Likely half the price of new or remanufactured alt.

J-Ri
08-14-2008, 03:10 PM
That's true, but new Bosch units have a lifetime waranty (reman is 2 years), unlike some part store-brands that have the same waranty, I have never seen one fail (new or reman) unless there was a 00-guage wire going to the amp :rolleyes: