1994 Jetta III stuttering/bumping 35+ MPH

INGUES
08-01-2008, 09:01 PM
Hello,

This is my first time posting on this website and Iím hoping that someone will be able to help me. I have a 1994 Jetta III Automatic that is having some stuttering and bumping problems when I go over 35 mph. I can accelerate to and over 35 just fine until I let off the gas. Once I let off the gas and hit the gas again (cruising speed 35 mph +) it starts to stutter and make you bounce all over the place. It seems to do this more often when the engine is running hot even though the engine never gets over 200 (new thermostat installed last year). It also seems to do it when you're slightly hitting the gas. If you floor it then it accelerates smoothly without any issues.

Iíve tried several different things to fix this problem, the first was putting an automatic transmission treatment into the existing fluid which did not fix the problem. The second was replacing the MAF sensor (EXPENSIVE!) hoping that it was some kind of air intake related issue, still nothing.

Iím really not sure what else to do, Iíve already spent so much money on this car that I would like to fix this issue and get a couple more years out of it.

Does anyone have any idea what could be going on?

Thanks,
David

veedubmechanic
08-03-2008, 10:59 AM
Under the intake manifold above the oil filter there is a plastic pipe that does from the engine and snakes up to the passenger side of the intake to the valve cover, check and see if the plastic pipe is broken.
Also mist water on the coilpack, its the square thing that has one spark plug wire going to it from the distributor, if the car chugs and dies than replace it.

INGUES
08-03-2008, 12:59 PM
Under the intake manifold above the oil filter there is a plastic pipe that does from the engine and snakes up to the passenger side of the intake to the valve cover, check and see if the plastic pipe is broken.