Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

1992 Delta 88 - climate control flashes?

Sonix1
05-24-2008, 08:04 PM
Just today, my climate control numbers are flashing. It'll flash for about 2 minutes or so, then stay steady. Either outside temp, or if I turn something on, then whatever i've set the inside temp to be - will flash.
Seems to work fine though.

What does this mean?

Thanks

brcidd
05-24-2008, 09:10 PM
Its an error code- It usually means it is low enough on refrigerant to disable the compressor-

Sonix1
05-24-2008, 10:57 PM
Ah, thanks. That makes sense
Funny it took as long as it did.

I know this is an R12 system, never been converted. I have very little knowledge of A/C systems, but from what i've heard, with an R12 system i'm basically between a rock and a hard place.

It's a bear to convert over to R134a (expensive, and not something a DIY'er with hand tools could do), and you can't refill an R12 system as is.

Am I right, or is there a loop hole here?

Thanks

brcidd
05-25-2008, 08:52 AM
You can still find R-12- just need to be licensed to buy it-- you can get that online for like $20- open book test-- see ackits.com search for certificiation-
You can also buy your R-12 cans online - just google it

HotZ28
05-25-2008, 10:10 AM
If you’re A/C is “working fine” then I would not suspect the lack of refrigerant as being the cause of the flashing display. Low refrigerant is only one of the many faults that will cause a flashing display. As previously mentioned, if the fault is for “low refrigerant” the compressor will shut down. Early signs of low refrigerant would be frequent cycling of the compressor. Have you disconnected the battery lately? If so, that can cause a flashing display. Usually, if no real faults are detected after 50 ignition cycles, the flashing display will disappear.