Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Dupont Clear

builder77
04-11-2008, 10:39 AM
I just got some Dupont 7779 s urethane and wanted some advice as it is my first time using this type of paint.
Am I correct that it is a 4 parts clear to 1 part activator mix?
It can be shot over decals?
Use a large needle on the airbrush as it flows thick?
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
Chris

quadzero
04-11-2008, 05:17 PM
You're right about it being 4:1, althou I have never used it personally. I use Dupont 72200s and never had any problems with it painting over decals. I find a larger needle and tip work better to get a nice flow-out. 7779s has a flash time of 10 minutes and a dust free time of 20 minutes. 2 medium coats is all that is required althou I start with very thin light coats and gradually build up to a final wet coat. One thing for sure is wear a respirator with plenty of ventilation or just paint outside, its nasty stuff and produces isocyanates and your lungs wont like you if you dont. Try avoiding getting any on your skin either.

builder77
04-12-2008, 03:17 PM
Thanks for the information.
Yeah you can never be too safe with paints!
Chris

Didymus
04-12-2008, 06:48 PM
Four-to-one clear-to-activator is correct.

Before I switched back to clear lacquer, I was told by automotive paint store staff people that two-part urethane clear should not be thinned. I took them at their word, and my cars looked like they'd been freshly dipped in Karo Syrup. But on reflection, I think the store guys were giving me "real car" advice. I haven't done further research, but it's quite possible that urethane clears aren't very weather-resistant if they're thinned. I can't imagine what harm would be done by thinning it a bit. If I were to try urethane again for a model, I would thin it 1-to-4 - or even more!- with either UR40 or plain old lacquer thinner.