Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

3000GT VR4 Tranny

Marvin Kusik
01-22-2008, 10:24 PM
I'm new to this, so if if I'm not doing this right, sorry.
I have a '91 VR4 GETRAG tranny without a 4th gear. No unusual noises, just nothing when I go to 4th. I thought I could tear it down and check it out, but I can't get the thing apart!! I have every bolt that I can see removed, but the cover only moves about 1/2" before it stops. I'm getting desperate; the crowbar/sledgehammer is looking better all the time. Has anyone torn one of these down? What's the trick?

new2mitsu
01-22-2008, 10:44 PM
havent really opened mine up, but u could try that. if you mess anything up, i have one that i could sell you. shifts good, just needs one sycro.

liquidPunk
01-23-2008, 06:46 AM
Are you just talking about the end cover that covers the 5th gear? (located on the passenger side of the tranny). If so then there is a little nub that holds it on even after you undo all the bolts, mostly you need to tap it with a hammer and then wiggle the end off. Be carefull not to lose the spring located just inside it.

DCIV
01-23-2008, 08:49 AM
if your trying to take the bellhousing off there is a shifter that has to come out first. Thats really the only way I would take a tranny apart.

Coop

Linebckr49
01-23-2008, 04:04 PM
if ur removing the end cover, be sure to remove the allen bolt from under the circular plastic cover.

Stealthee
01-23-2008, 09:07 PM
If you want to take the trans apart you have to start at the end case. It wont come apart the other way.

Theres a few guides for tearing one apart online. You just have tio find the guides.

Crackhedbob341
01-23-2008, 09:32 PM
I have a link to the repair manuals for 1st/2nd generation 3/S. Let me know if you are interested.

Marvin Kusik
01-23-2008, 10:37 PM
if ur removing the end cover, be sure to remove the allen bolt from under the circular plastic cover.