Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

New to the hobby any ideas?

michael lambert
01-04-2008, 10:13 AM
Hey peoples.

I am very new to the hobby, A quick run down i made a few models when i was yonger in my late teens. Seemed none of them ever took more than a couple of days to complete and allways had lots of left over parts!

Recently, Got married we are expecting and the Doctor says i need a hobby! Being that modeling is something i have allways admired I really want to get back into it.

I have done a ton of reading over the last couple of days and have found out that some people spend months / years on a single model and i find that very hard to comprehend however its true! I was doing something seriously wrong when i was making them so i would like to start off fresh and see what i can get out of it all :D

I bought my first model however i am thinking that to prevent from rushing it i might need a couple on the go at the same time.

My first attempt will be the NISMO R34 GT-R Z-tune (http://www.tamiya.com/english/products/24282nismor34/index.htm)After all my reading i think i determined that the Tamiya series of models would be easist to work with as they are typically molded better and fit right, i went with this one after spending hours at the hobby store as it seemed to be alittle simpler looking and not as much details as some of them.

Well i hope by the end of this weekend, to have my very first "In Progress" thread going :D

Thanks for everything i hope to get here and if someone want to share some more good reading i am more than happy to take the advice!

Regards,

Michael Lambert.

MPWR
01-04-2008, 10:39 AM
Hi Michael-

Welcome to AF, and to the hobby!

Great choice for your first build- it would be tough to come up with a better option.