Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

WHY STICKY AFTER SPRAYED TS50

joecwlaw
02-10-2003, 09:24 PM
guys, this is my first time using the TS50. I sprayed on the Subaru WRC chassis without any primer. First I sprayed a very light coat, then I sprayed 2nd and 3rd time a small bit heavier. It covers very well. But after 1 day of drying, the surface is still very sticky......

I have similar problem with Tamiya TS13 as well before......I dont understand, what is the problem? is that coz' I did not shake it well? or other issue?

:confused: :confused:

Jay!
02-10-2003, 09:29 PM
What are your weather conditions? Where did you let it dry?

Vyacheslav
02-10-2003, 09:33 PM
Any paint is about to be sticky after 1 day of drying. Give it atleast 3 dasy

joecwlaw
02-10-2003, 09:35 PM
I put it in a plastic box with cover, and put a toothpick to absorb the moisture...

:( :confused:

Vyacheslav
02-10-2003, 09:39 PM
Originally posted by joecwlaw
I put it in a plastic box with cover, and put a toothpick to absorb the moisture...

:( :confused:
the box should have ventilation, so the air can get inside of it.

Mainomega
02-10-2003, 09:41 PM
I left a model to dry for about 20 hours, touched it with my finger and felt smooth and dry, so i put it in a plastic bag. 3 days later i take it out only to find the top of the model had a small imperfection.

I though the model was dry but it wasn't the part where the car and the plastic meet had joined togehter and messed up my paint. From now on i spray it and i cover it usually with the same box the kit came in for 4 days. and then spray clear on it.

.porkchop.
02-10-2003, 09:57 PM
i find that paints air better in open environments....
i usually let me models dry in open areas..tamiya paints usually dry to touch in less than 2 hrs

Asmenoth
02-11-2003, 12:00 AM