Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Thinking about getting a bike?

youngcaradvc
11-29-2007, 11:35 PM
Hi everyone, I have recently been interested in acquiring a honda motorcylce for myself. I have NO riding experience, so I am just asking what kind of bike does everyone suggest? I am the kind of life on the edge type of person, so I was htinking that a 600 would be a nice size to get, considering Ill most likely have it for a few years. My real question is what should I look for in a bike? How many miles, prices, specifics, any training courses or advice would be greatly appreciated. Stats: I am 18 (dont give me bullshit cuz ive had my share ;), i weigh around 160 lbs, 5' 9". I am really just looking for some buying advice, thanks.

jeffcoslacker
11-30-2007, 07:44 AM
Most pro riders will tell you that very few pro riders can make use of a 600 sportbike's full potential, and it's definitely not a beginner ride...

As a beginner, you'll drop it a few times, even if only while not moving. Plastics are expensive for sport bikes...

All things considered, I always suggest a new rider buy an old 80's era standard like a Nighthawk or a Seca or something like that which are plentiful, cheap, reliable, and don't cost $1000 to repair every time it tips over...ride it for 6 months to a year, until you're comfortable with riding, sell it and then get what you really want.

You can generally find these bikes for $1500 or less easily...

Then when you get something newer and nicer you'll have the experience to make use of it, tempered with a respect for what you are doing which helps keep you outta trouble...

As always, the MSF course is absolutely the best first step a new rider can take, they will teach you things that will save your life...

rubix777
11-30-2007, 08:52 PM