2001 silverado exhaust

rharr
12-06-2002, 11:41 AM
I have a 2001 silverado with a single in dual out 40 series flowmaster. It just doesnt have enough sound for me. I want my truck to be the baddest sounding truck around here. what setup can i look into to make that happen??

BigB00
07-02-2003, 12:15 AM
Depending on what size engine you have (for torqe purposes) or if you want it legal or not, I would go with a Cherry Bomb/Glass Pack (NOT street legal). If you really want it loud... just straight pipe it. Either way... the loudest options are usually illegal. I have the Gibson duel catback system and I don't think it's loud enough. But then again, it's probably because I only have a 6cyl. I wanted to straight pipe it, but I heard I wouldn't have enough torqe.

onehate02
09-22-2004, 11:13 PM
what does it mean when you get straight pipes? like no muffler?

killerkatana75
09-22-2004, 11:21 PM
yeah straight pipes means no muffler, i have an 03 and i had flowmaster on it ( to quiet) straight pipes ( to loud ) and glass packs ( same loudness as flowmaster) to keep the torque the same and still get sound, what i usually do to trucks is go with a forza flow ( kinda like flowmaster only cheaper) and run smaller pipe such as 2 inch instead of 2 1/4 or 2 1/2. I work at a meineke muffler shop so i do this stuff all day, i have had every kinda exhaust on my truck you can think of, yes even the chrome mufflers the little rice burners run, but what i have now is proven to be the best set up, i saw your from cali so you might not get away with the same stuff we do here in redneck country ( indiana)

sc_customs
09-23-2004, 09:36 AM
if you have a 40 series you might wanna try a single chamber flowmaster. those are nice and loud :iceslolan

the muffler itself is only about a foot in length, tiny lil thing

jeverett
09-23-2004, 09:42 AM