Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

KMX problems...smokin

Jonesy32
09-26-2007, 02:25 PM
Hi, I've got a 1993 kawasaki KMX which is smoking way too much. I am new to owning a bike and bought this bike cheap (mainly for green laning), but when I bought it there was no smoke coming from it. However, on reflection the bike had no 2 stroke oil in it. i have had it serviced and checked over and apparently they say the smoke is normal for a 2 stroke... but when cold I can hardly see the bike! Surely this can't be right? When hot the bike doesn't smoke until it has to go up hills. Any advice apart from taking it to the local scrap yard? Thanks

VR43000GT
09-26-2007, 03:06 PM
Hi, I've got a 1993 kawasaki KMX which is smoking way too much. I am new to owning a bike and bought this bike cheap (mainly for green laning), but when I bought it there was no smoke coming from it. However, on reflection the bike had no 2 stroke oil in it. i have had it serviced and checked over and apparently they say the smoke is normal for a 2 stroke... but when cold I can hardly see the bike! Surely this can't be right? When hot the bike doesn't smoke until it has to go up hills. Any advice apart from taking it to the local scrap yard? Thanks

First off, having no 2-cycle oil in it is a very bad thing and a good way to cease the motor up. Without oil, the piston is going to get hot and expand causing very bad problems. What are mixing the oil at? 40:1? 30:1? Generally when you start two-strokes up they have more smoke coming out then when they have sat and ran for a minute or two. They are not near as clean burning as a four-stroke so sometimes they need to clear out. Excess smoke could be caused from running rich. However, if you are running extremely rich I don't think the bike would even run and you would just have a fowled plug.

Jonesy32
10-02-2007, 02:47 PM