Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Just got a 99 Forester L

greatwhitehunter
08-20-2007, 07:49 AM
Just picked up a 99 Forester L w/ 178K. It's a 5 speed with ice cold A/C. I am loving it a ton already. The only issue it seems to have is a slight oil leak that is dripping & burning onto the exhaust. Have not seen any smoke, just smell the burnt oil smell. I have yet to get it on the lift and check it out. It seems to only drip when engine is running and more towards the middle/rear of the car. I am thinking it might be the rear main seal. However this is Ford Mustang repairs telling me this, as I have no experience with Subaru's. I picked it up for a great price, so I don't mind putting some love/work into it. I will post up when I figure out where the oil is coming from.

jg09
10-06-2007, 12:36 PM
Sweet! Ironically, looking at your sig line, we own a Toyota Camry and a Forester, too.:lol: Foresters are great little cars that can do a lot. Ours is a Gen. II (2003) and I haven't driven a Gen. I like yours, but I've heard a lot of good things about them, too.

tshih
10-09-2007, 10:07 AM
My dad has the same year Forester as yours. Have you had to adjust the valves yet. Please post procedure and special tricks when you learn them so I can do my dad's engine which makes a rattling noise upon start up when cold.

Congrats on the "new" car.

greatwhitehunter
10-30-2007, 09:15 AM
I took it into the lube place yesterday for its second oil change with me. It has a small oil leak from where the engine and trans meet. This is likely the rear main seal. It leaks a small amount onto the exhaust, just enough to smell, but not see any smoke. Between oil changes no notable drop in oil level. I am running 10-30 Pensoil, thinking about running a thicker oil to see if less oil leaks.

freakray
10-30-2007, 09:24 AM
I very much doubt it is the main seal.