Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Severe Electrical Problems

ssssmashing
07-16-2007, 09:29 AM
Hello all!
I am new to the AF and I was hoping someone can help. I have a 2003 Santa Fe and I am having SEVERE electrical problems with the vehicle. I purchase it used about 3 months ago and shortly after buying it I started having problems with the power door locks. The dealer fixed this but they went bad again (sometimes) Recently on a trip when I went to hit the door lock button and the windshield wipers turned on. Then I turned on the headlights and lost all power to the dash (when I turned the lights off the gauges, radio, etc came back on. Then the temp gauge stopped working properly. It showed the engine running hot, then if I turned the lights off the temp gauge dropped sharply and showed normal. Then the AC started cutting out and the fasten seatbelt light and signal stuck on. When I returned I took it to the dealer and they could not replicate the problem. My problem is my warrentee will run out in another 1500 miles.:banghead:

Any suggestions?? Any help or suggestions are welcomed.
Thanks
Frank

ssssmashing
07-27-2007, 07:57 AM
Well this forum was as helpful as my local dealer and Hyundai USA. I have owned my first and last Korean manufactured automobile. ASAP - I will be trading it in (for next to nothing) to get a good old reliable, dependable Honda.

mac55
08-05-2007, 03:19 PM
Probly is the battery!!!
I had my battery die on the way home from nj I would put my turn signal on and the radio would quit, then if I flashed my head lights the car would die!!!!
crazy!!!!
mac55

Jalmir
08-06-2007, 09:51 AM
mac55 : A dead battery doesn't do that, sorry but if raplacing your battery solved the problem then you have a bad alt.