Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

power windows / power lock issues-- 90 buick lesabre custom

litewrite
07-12-2007, 02:09 PM
Greetings-- I am a newbie to the forums. I have a 1990 Buick LeSabre Custom. I inherited it from my grandmother, who had it stolen from her twice (and recovered) before she gave it to me and my wife.

Since it was stolen, the power locks and power windows have been working improperly. The power locks, if you replace the fuse (20 amp), will work fine until you open the drivers side door, and then it blows the fuse.

As for the power windows, all but one window (the rear passenger) will go down fine, but will take forever to go back up, i.e. a little bit at a time. The rear passenger side window will not go up or down at all.

My questions are:

1) What else can I try on the powerlocks, fuse/ relay-wise before I start monkeying with (or pay a mechanic) the electrical system?

2) For the power windows -- should i start with the 30A-12V (the big silver one in the fuse box on steering wheel side) fuse to see if that is the culprit? Once I have changed that out, and it doesnt make any difference, what is my next step? Is this a fuse i can get at a local auto parts store? I tried to buy what I thought was the same (30-12V) and it doesn't fit. I am assuming I have to special order? Thanks in advance for any advice!

Bassasasin
07-12-2007, 06:46 PM
Welcome to the forum.

Fuse blowing is somewhat hard to find,
however, a good help is to wire up a light bulb in the circuit instead of the fuse. When the short occurs the light lights and indicates the short..:thumbsup:
This may help as you search for the short and save on fuses from the Auto Parts Store. You could bring one of the blown good size fuse to the store to help identify it. The big silver fuses are commonly just breakers that pop when hot and later reset. My diagram labels the window fuse as a Circuit Breaker.