Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Tamiya

Integra14
10-30-2002, 02:27 PM
Im looking for a nice tamiya model to work on for a while... i would say im an intermediate builder. Ive built the Tamiya Nsx, Revel Z8, and 2 Revell ITR's.... can anyone give some suggestions or comments?

tonioseven
10-30-2002, 02:38 PM
Get an R32 Skyline GT-R! It comes with an engine and is a great to work on!!!:cool: or the 300zx turbo, or the Toyota Supra! they all have engines and are great!! :cool:

ZoomZoomMX-5
10-30-2002, 02:42 PM
If you like exotic cars with exotic engines go for the Tamiya 360 Modena Spider. It's a fantastic kit, and it's basically hassle-free when it comes to building it. It's amazing how easy the engine/suspension parts are to paint detail and then assemble. The most difficult aspect of this kit was to mask/airbrush the aluminum portions of the door panels. I had trouble w/the 360 Modena coupe, the glass didn't fit well at all, though I think they may have fixed that problem. The Spider was a perfect "shake the box and it's assembled" Tamiya kit.

You really can't go wrong with any of their kits. If you choose one w/o an engine, you pretty much should go with whatever car you like the most.

Jay!
10-30-2002, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by Integra14
Im looking for a nice tamiya model to work on for a while... What car would you like to have when you're done? ;)

kicker1_solo
10-30-2002, 04:34 PM
go with the ferrari :)

S Brake
10-30-2002, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by kicker1_solo
go with the ferrari :) Thats the first intelligent thing I've heard you say yet!

kicker1_solo
10-30-2002, 04:53 PM
Originally posted by snowboarder
Thats the first intelligent thing I've heard you say yet! I'm sure by "yet" you mean "in the last 5 minutes" :D

primera man
10-30-2002, 06:05 PM
Any Tamiya kit as long as it hasn't got a heap of decals to apply or two different body colours will be good.
A 32-33-34 Skyline or WRX are always a good kit to begin with

hirofkd