Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

96 Windstar...code 0351 issues....

kellit
06-04-2007, 12:19 PM
Okay ya'll....please bear with me here. I am new at this vehicle thing. lol

My husband takes really good care of our vehicles, first and foremost. There is a problem with our 96 3.8 Windstar. The check engine light is on and it is giving a code of 0351. He is saying that this is pointing to the ignition coil. Now, on May 13th he replaced the ignition coil, crankshaft sensor, new spark plug wires and new spark plugs. The problem that it is doing, along with the check engine light, is that from 0 - 35 mph it hesitates, sometimes stalls, until it goes higher than 35 mph. After that everything is fine. It acts normal. So like on the highway at 60, 70 mph, everything is great, but the minute he gets it down to 35 or lower again, the hesitation starts, the stalling, etc. He has to practically baby it in the city. One other thing is this problem is intermittent, but has been happening a little more often since the 13th when everything was replaced.

Last night we were testing different things and we found that the connector to the crankshaft sensor is getting no voltage at all. It should be reading battery voltage, but instead, none at all. He has tried to trace the wires to see if there is some kind of breakage in the wiring, but to no avail.

Any suggestions, outside of taking it to the mechanic, YET AGAIN (for different reasons) ????

Thanks so much,
Kelli

wiswind
06-04-2007, 08:04 PM
P0351 is a ignition coil A primary circuit malfunction.

There are 3 coils molded together in the coil assembly.
The primary side is the input side, which is driven directly by the PCM.

The secondary side is the side that the spark plug wires connect to.
Coil A drives spark plugs at cylinders 1 and 5....one at each end of the secondary coil.

One side of each primary coil is connected to the battery voltage through fuse 20 in the I/P fuse panel.