Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

'00 Avenger 2.5L No Spark

teg453
05-22-2007, 08:30 AM
I have my son's Avenger (2.5L) here and when he brought it to me to look at, it would not start after it sat for 30 mins. This started about 2 weeks ago. I got it started to put in the garage and that was the last time it started. Hot or cold.
Got into the distributor. Readings on the coil are ok! Then I checked the 5 wire harness going into the side if the dist., and with the key on, only one wire is active. And that fires up the initial shot from the fuel pump. (And using a test light to check for that juice, the pump fired, but no spark on the test light.) No juice to the coil either. The single wire going to the coil!
Any suggestions on no spark at the distributor?

jdl
05-25-2007, 10:09 AM
The black/red wire should be hot with the engine cranking. That should be primary voltage to the coil. The black wire should have a pulse, with the engine cranking.

I'm not a transister expert, I believe the computer sends a small voltage on the coil driver circuit," red/green wire", to the base of the transistor, which switches the connection between the emitter and collector.

Maybe some of the other prople can explain it better?

twistedtech
05-25-2007, 06:27 PM
Will only send sig when it recieves from cranck sensor. Check the crank sensor.

teg453
06-01-2007, 03:36 PM
Will only send sig when it recieves from cranck sensor. Check the crank sensor.

If the crank sensor is not working, wouldn't I get an error code? Or, by not starting the car, something else is wrong and this sensor is detecting it and causing the no spark! What would that be?

jdl
06-02-2007, 07:53 AM