Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

99 honda accord ex EGR valve code p0401

leguligu
05-06-2007, 03:04 AM
Hi, guys. my check engine light came on six months ago. i took my car to autozone. they gave me the code P0401 (EGR Flow Insufficient). I changed the new egr valve and cleaned the egr port and passage that connect to egr valve. but the code is still on.:banghead: My car is 99 honda accord ex 4 cylinder. now mileage is110000. I am a newbie. Is there any egr port inside the intake manifold. If yes, Do I need to take the intake manifold cover to clean those egr ports. How to do that. Guys, I really need your helps. Please. Thanks.

somick
05-07-2007, 11:32 AM
Did you clear the code from the ECU memory after repairs?

Sam

leguligu
05-10-2007, 01:53 AM
I have tried to disconnect the battery and pulled out he backup acc fuse. The light just turned off like one day and then come on again. Can you tell me are there any egr port inside the intakn manifold? I really need your help because i have to inspect my car next month in New York. Thank you!

jeffcoslacker
05-10-2007, 04:07 AM
OBD-II trouble codes have to be cleared with a scan tool...the ECM holds hard codes in memory even with power disconnected.

You've got a passage through the intake yes, but if it's clear near the valve, it should be clean all the way through...near the valve is usually where they develop build-up. I don't like to get too crazy trying to clean the intake side, you don't wanna force a bunch of solid crap through to have it blown into the cylinders.

You can go to AutoZone and have them clear the codes, see if it comes back. They're supposed to clear them when they retrieve them, but sometimes they don't, and it just keeps popping up.

blacknight
05-11-2007, 10:56 AM
Click here to erase your CEL code (http://www.6thgenaccord.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1716)

leguligu
05-11-2007, 02:31 PM