Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Real Bad Idle And Runs Like Crap

90talonfwd
05-05-2007, 10:50 PM
Hi, I am new to this so if i dont cover everything im sorry.

I have a 1990 talon FWD 2.0 DOHC with T3/T4 turbo JDM BOV and aftermarket tubing. I recently replaced the rings and head gasket and have never done it before. So i put everything back together and forgot to tighten the ilder pulley. the T-belt came off and i had to replace the head. so i did that and timed it. then i started it and it ran good then it started cutting then it got real bad as i drove it, it kept dying and overheating and at an idle it vibrates and misses real bad, and now has hardley any powerwhen you try to move it. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME :banghead:

Black99GST
05-05-2007, 11:25 PM
sounds like the timming is off again, head/block wasnt machined to fit the block/head before the head was put back, causing the head not to seal against the block, causing overheating. :2cents: thats all i can get out of the info you've provided, dont quote me on any of this for it is late, and i've had far to much to drink already.

gthompson97
05-06-2007, 02:29 AM
Welcome to AF, please take the time to read the rules and FAQ on the main page.

Have you done anything to check to see if the timing is off again? Or maybe a compression test to see if you bent any more valves? Things like this need to be done so we can help you further.

P.S. Thanks for posting in the correct sub-forum, not many newbies tend to do that.

90talonfwd
05-06-2007, 11:49 AM
no i have not checked timing again, i dont see how it cancome out of time once you time it. but i will check the timing and the compression and get back to you. thanks oh by the way i also have an safc hooked up. and the head was used but everything is good.. im at a loss, i will let you guys know if the timing is off thanks.

90talonfwd
05-06-2007, 01:09 PM