Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Amp, Sub system help wiring etc...

98CivicDXMT21
03-07-2007, 08:56 AM
I was given a Dual XinBP 12" Subwoofer, 300w RMS, 550w peak, 4 ohms.
I have no owners manual or anything, and the company hasn't emailed me back yet.
Anyone know good dimensions for a sealed box? I've heard to leave at least 2 inches behind the magnet-i would like to make the box tall and not so deep so i dont take up too muhc trunk space.
Also what kind of amp would i need to power this?
I'm pretty sure i want to go with mono, but how many watts? (RMS or peak?)
Does the amp have to be 4 ohms as well?
What guage wire would i have to buy to wire this up?
How does it wire into the headunit?
Is there anything else i would need?Any/all advice is appreciated-sorry for all the questions-im new to car stereos-just wired up a new headunit and speakers and thats all the experience i have.

alphalanos
03-07-2007, 09:17 AM
You're going to have to find the specs of the sub in order to build a good box for it. As for the other questions, you will need preferably a mono amp with anywhere from 200-350w or so, you can get away with less however. RMS(Root Mean Square) is what you want to look at. Peak means the amount of power the driver can handle for an instant but not a continuous amount. RMS is the amount that the driver can handle continuously safely. Im assuming the sub is 4ohm single voice coil, so you need an amp that puts out 2-300w rms @ 4ohm. Something like this would be good http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=16337You should be alright with an 8 gauge wire, but I would recommend the 4 gauge because you can upgrade your amp and sub later if you want and not have to run thicker wires. I like this brand http://knukonceptz.com/productMaster.cfm?Category=Amp%20Installation%20Ki ts pretty cheap and high quality.