Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Supercharger rebuild

grijsneus
03-01-2007, 09:37 AM
Hi, can anyone tell me which "special" tools are needed to rebuild the supercharger on my '97 riv? I'm wondering if I should tackle this myself using a rebuild kit or just cough up the xtra $$ and have it done for me. I am completely new to working on superchargers so any additional info on this subject is very welcome indeed.

96riviera18
03-01-2007, 03:23 PM
what makes you think you need a rebuild? just curious.
a coupler is easy to replace and your probably needs a new one if it has never been replaced. a "rebuild" usualy means new bearings and seals. you need a hydrolic press to install the bearings and the kit with all the parts (grease,2 bearings, seal, etc.). if your rotors are broken or damaged then you need a new s/c which are not that expensive new or used (could probably pick one up for under 400). is this something you can do?
i have not seen too many M90's that needed a rebuild. many with 200k miles are only on their 2nd coupler and factory otherwise. its a good time to change out the oil when you do the coupler. ONLY use GM supercharger oil. it takes 2 bottles ~$7 each. zzperformance.com has replacement parts or rebuilds if you need them.

wafrederick
03-01-2007, 07:36 PM
GM does not make parts for the supercharger and you have to replace the whole thing.My father tried it once and the dealer said no replacement parts are not made.

96riviera18
03-01-2007, 07:47 PM
correct the dealer does not have any parts. their fix is just replace the whole thing for way too much money. however EVERY part can be bought seperatly online. ebay always has 1-2 used M90 charges for sale. and as i said before places like zzp, intense, w-body, etc. all have parts. (couplers, oil, seals, housings, snouts, pullies, bearings, grease.)

grijsneus
03-02-2007, 08:46 AM
Thanks for the response guys.