Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

Electrical Question

Earlsfat
02-19-2007, 10:47 AM
Wasn't sure where to post this so....

I am planning on redoing the interior of RD this spring, to include new dash and console... from scratch, most likely out of sheetmetal not sure if using aluminum or steel.

I was looking at another site (mp3.com, I think?) where the guys are really into fabbing up their own stuff, and someone made a comment that using metal was a bad idea, something about the whole thing would be a fire hazard / electrical shock hazard, you'd have the full charge of the system running through the entire metal piece.

Is that right? If so, how did they get around that in the pre-plastic era cars / trucks? Sorta sounds like if you have that problem, you really don't know how to work with electricity (not that I'm a pro or anything).

IF it is right - what the hell do you use... fiberglass, wood? Fiberglass I wouldn't think would stand up to the vibration, and wood... wood warps, dents, cracks, splits... This guy can't be right... The plastic is just for the economics of manufacturing and weight savings right? (Not for it's insulating electrical properties?)

Can someone enlighten me?

FYI - I'm going to square off the dash and console, and take the console all the way back to the rear firewall, and go more for a 50's sort of dash, using some ribbed aluminum and black vinyl. My only problem is locating gauges, switches and vent assemblies that will look good with what I'm trying to do.

So if anyone knows of a custom switch place that does billet and polished wiper and headlight switches let me know. Also if anyone knows of a gauge manufacturer that has polished bezels on black face gauges (aside from Autometer and Steweart-Warner - not too nuts about theirs) let me know.

wrightz28
02-20-2007, 11:55 AM