Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

The modeling blues..

adam30k
09-25-2002, 07:30 AM
So as you may know I'm pretty new with modeling, I just got back into the hobby recently, mainly using Revell models. Well I had some damage to my Acura Integra so I packed it away and decided to work on something else. I finished the Viper RT/10 and got a Ford Mustang and a Mini Cooper to work on. Well The Mustang frustrated me to no end and now the Mini Cooper is doing the same. Is it time to make the switch to Tamiya and just put up with the higher prices? I like working on models but this is becoming too much.. nothing fits well, pieces keep on coming unglued and Revell makes a hobby of seeing how hard they can make their instructions. Maybe I need some coaxing to believe that it's the model's fault, not mine. Anybody else just get stuck sometimes working on models?

935k3
09-25-2002, 07:50 AM
We all get stuck and have to go on to something else at times. If your having glue problems could you explain more detail about that. One thing I do is make sure everything is secure before any paint goes on. I add allot of re-enforcement to models such as adding pins to parts at attachment points and plastic tabs(hidden areas)I like models to almost snap together before I glue them. I do allot of this pre-engineering of a model before I even clean up the parts. Try to use a good liquid glue like Pro-Weld to glue up as much as possible before painting. An example glue up the whole Roll Cage before painting. I do not like relying relying totally on glue to hold things together. These things were learned from having the same problems your having now. Test fit everything before painting. Tamiya kits are really better though in the long run. They always fit better and have less to cleanup on parts.

adam30k
09-25-2002, 07:54 AM