Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Newbie here - needing some advice.

jazzywheelz
12-19-2006, 05:55 AM
hi there.
i'm new to the forum and i've recently started my first model. it's the tamiya 1/24 celica gt-four. it seems to be going pretty well so far. the engine is in and the chassis is almost complete. i'll get some pictures up when i get chance.
there are a few things i need some advice on though...

firstly, are there any companies selling aftermarket scale wheels in the uk ?
i'm looking for some similar to these in 18"...

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a45/jazzywheelz/untitled.jpg

secondly, while cutting out the windscreen, i was a little clumsy and scratched it. i have managed to sand away the scratch and smooth it off using rubbing compound but i'm unsure what to use to buff it up to a perfect finish. any ideas ?

also, i'm wanting to make some sideskirts but i'm unsure of the best way to do this. i want to make them seperate from the main body incase i decide not to use them. any advice would be much apreciated.

thanks in advance for your help guys.

rallymaster
12-19-2006, 09:11 AM
Hello,

welcome here on AF.
If you expect to make seperated side skirts I would advice you to build them in modelling clay hardening on air.
Easy to sand and to correct if they don't fit perfectly.
If you choose plastic card it may on my opinion be more difficult to work with without fixing it to the body.
Or best solution is maybe to mix both methods: a plastic card part fitted with clay to give it the final touch and form.

For the wheels I think that I've recently seen something like that in Fujimi spare products range... Not sure.

Bye
Phil

jazzywheelz
12-19-2006, 09:54 AM
@rallymaster
thank you for the welcome.
it appears you're correct about the wheels. i've just found the exact ones on fujimi's website...
http://www.fujimimokei.com/product/img/ntw/NT&W_N.jpg

i've just got to find a uk stockist now.
any suggestions from uk modellers ?

Enzoenvy1