Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Blast from the Past

Matthew Usher
09-17-2002, 10:02 AM
Here's my buildup of the Fisher Model & Pattern 1/24 scale Jaguar D-type -- the car that won the 1955 Le Mans 24 hours.

The kit is all resin. I scratchbuilt a new instrument panel face (with clear lenses and instruments) as well as the leather bonnet straps. The chrome-plated release handles are door handles from Gunze-Sangyo's VW Karmann Ghia kit.

The model is painted with Tamiya British Racing Green from the spray can, and admittedly, the green should probably be a shade darker.

This is my first time posting a picture here. What do you think?

Matt

ZoomZoomMX-5
09-17-2002, 10:12 AM
Welcome aboard Matt! I love that kit, and your build has inspired me to get it eventually at least;)

Lots of Subaru models around here too, if you're interested:cool:

Keep posting pics...got any of your Miata? (check my handle...)

L8r
Bob Downie aka ZoomZoom.

Veyron
09-17-2002, 12:09 PM
Beautiful job! Welcome to broke modeler central!:flash:

flyonthewall
09-17-2002, 12:12 PM
Welcome Matt, a great model of a british classic. What was it like to build?

NoBrakes
09-17-2002, 12:34 PM
First of all, Welcome ;)

That Jag looks awesome, makes me want to start on my XK-E

Keep posting more models

Cheers

JOSE MARIA
09-17-2002, 01:48 PM
amazing:eek2: :eek2:

mm rsin kits are super expensive , but...well , after all Fisher has a good rapport quality / price. Iīd go for the Alfa BAt bby Bertone of the `50s

ZoomZoomMX-5
09-17-2002, 01:59 PM
Iīd go for the Alfa BAt bby Bertone of the `50s

By all means, get this kit. It's superb. I don't know how he can mold it so well, what with the beautiful curved fins in the back. I drool every time I look at it. Well worth the $75 I paid for it. Now I need to find some decent color reference shots for the interior...

JOSE MARIA
09-17-2002, 02:47 PM