Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

D16Z6 Question?

SuperGreen95EX
09-11-2002, 08:11 AM
Hello all. I am new to this particular forum and I just wanted to say hi.

Now for my question: I have a 95 Civic EX with the D16Z6 and I am stuck trying to decide whether to build it all motor or just get the Greddy turbo kit. How much HP can I expect from an all motor vs a turbo? Thanks guys. Sean:bandit:

mellowboy
09-11-2002, 09:34 AM
Well i don't know how much u can squeeze out an all motor on a sohc. I'd rather turbo sohc then go all motor on it.

Tofuboy
09-12-2002, 01:54 AM
What do you mean by build an all motor? are you going to take the engine apart and build it inturnally?

My opinion is to build up your motor's bottom half first, this is very creditcal for a high preformance engine. By doing so you can rev your engine at high RPM over the red line without worries. Then you can decide if you want to go NA or Turbo.

I personally like NA motor more and you can autocross without being bump to a higher level if you are new, but if you just want to drag race or power hungry, I guess turbo will be a better choice for you.

Frostbyte
09-12-2002, 04:00 PM
Originally posted by Tofuboy
What do you mean by build an all motor? are you going to take the engine apart and build it inturnally?

My opinion is to build up your motor's bottom half first, this is very creditcal for a high preformance engine. By doing so you can rev your engine at high RPM over the red line without worries. Then you can decide if you want to go NA or Turbo.

I personally like NA motor more and you can autocross without being bump to a higher level if you are new, but if you just want to drag race or power hungry, I guess turbo will be a better choice for you.