Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

'92 LeSabre DEADLY BRAKES!

UltraWill
11-02-2006, 05:03 PM
Hey fellas. I'm really impressed with this board, very good thing you have going on here!

Here's my issue, I have a '92 LeSabre with (I think) a 3800 Tuned Point Injection motor (I don't know if that's even relevant) and I've had a BIT of trouble with the brakes.

First off, my rotors were F-----. I'm a fairly poor man, so I replaced them myself. It was fun, because I'm an artsy musician queerbo who most everyone thinks couldn't lift a finger when it comes to car work, but I've also replaced a water pump on my old '78 Nova (HELL YEAH), anyway, after replacing those rotors everything was great.....until last Sunday. I'm driving down the street, and there are cars and pedestrians everywhere when all the sudden there is a routine red light. I press the brake down and it just goes "FSHHHH" all the way to the floor, and I'm still going. Luckily I am a videogame nerd and my puzzle instincts kick in and I swerve my way effortlessly through traffic and end up taking a left. I then take a deep breath and step on the brake. It totally works this time. Since then I've had to drive my car to work everyday and everyday I have this problem (of course as soon as I almost died the first time, I figured a way to work around it...a very bad idea!)

Here's how I work my way around it: As soon as my brakes die out on me (almost EVERYTIME I USE THEM) I quickly take my foot off the brake and tap the gas pedal and reapply the brake, and it works.

Here are some conditions it seems to not work in:
-When I'm in second gear, not sure if this is part of it, but it seems to be ok if I'm going fast or really slow, but not when I'm going about 30 mph.
-When I've been stopped for some time. The brake pedal slowly gives way and I start rolling into whatever is in front of me (THANK JESUS FOR THE PARKING BRAKE)
-When in reverse.