Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Valve grinding resources?

mza1979m
10-31-2006, 09:19 AM
Can anyone here please direct me to an informative website/Internet resource that displays information pertaining to valve grinding? I want as much detail about everything there is to know about valve grinding and how to do it.
Thanks in advance.

KimMG
11-01-2006, 12:18 AM
Check out your local junior college, night school, or vocational school. You maybe able to find a low cost class where you can get hands-on experience. In my opinion and experience, I have found it better to actually demonstrate and let the person I was showing how to grind the valves do the grinding and fitting in the head.

mza1979m
11-01-2006, 08:12 AM
Sorry, perhaps I should have been more specific. I am a college student majoring in Motive Power and I must do a lap prep for "Valve Grind". However, I'm finding it difficult to locate a good online source for my research.
I don't know a whole lot about valve grinding, which is why I need to know everything about it before I begin the actual work on it in class.

MT-2500
11-01-2006, 08:46 AM
Can anyone here please direct me to an informative website/Internet resource that displays information pertaining to valve grinding? I want as much detail about everything there is to know about valve grinding and how to do it.
Thanks in advance.

Your local machine shop that does valve grinding and cylinder head work would be a good source of information.
Also engine or cylinder head rebuilders may help you some.
Good Luck
MT

MT-2500
11-01-2006, 09:02 AM
Thanks in advance.

When I started out years ago almost ever repair shop had a valve grinding machine and done there own valve grinding.
45 years ago I could grind the valves and do a tun up on a chev 6 cyl before noon.
Now I am luckie if I can even get a tune up before noon.:grinno: :lol:
But any more heads require a lot of machine work with a valve grind job.