2003 Taurus anti-theft system?

flipper7969
10-12-2006, 02:50 AM
I have a 2003 Taurus and recently had an interlock device remove from it but now it will not start what so ever. I keep gettting the anti-theft light blinking really quickly. I have checked all the fuses under the dash and where the mega fuse is and all seem to be working properly. Also when i link the cylinoid to the starter the motor on it seems to crank but no crank of the actual engine.

Anyways to my question is there a way to reset this alarm system without having to go to the ford people and having to pay them close to 300$ to reset this and make a new key for me as they said this could be a problem. Any help would be very greatly appreciated as im not really a mechanic but i know enough to get myself around a car if told how to properly do it.
Thanks in Advance

Millermagic
10-12-2006, 10:18 AM
You have discovered PATS - it sucks. There's no way around it.

shorod
10-12-2006, 02:10 PM
Which interlock device did you have removed? Was it a shift interlock, PATS system, or what? Did the car ever start after the interlock device was removed? Why did you remove it? Does the car sound like it's attempting to start, it just won't fire, or does the starter not even engage (I'm guessing the latter based on your comment about jumpering the solenoid)?

If you're referring to the PATS system, then as Millermagic said, there's really no way around it. The PATS system is programmed to the PCM, if the PCM doesn't see it, it won't let the engine start.

-Rod

flipper7969
10-12-2006, 06:07 PM
Interlock device as a breathalyzer by guardian systems. When I turn the key over i hear clicking under the dash panel and under the mega fuse panel but no fire which im guessing it is the pats system .. how do i go about getting this reset and is it possible when the guy took it off(the interlock device) that the key got reset?

shorod
10-12-2006, 07:13 PM