Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

93 - 300E help

Bratzo
10-10-2006, 01:55 AM
The Low engine cooland level warning lamp is on, i check the cooland level and is ok there is no liks. Temp is normal, no idea why the lamp is on ? any ideas please help.
Thanks

arlingtoncountyred
10-25-2006, 10:35 PM
Defective coolant level sensor is the most likely cause, it is located in the coolant surge tank.

seafishy
01-09-2007, 09:50 PM
Defective coolant level sensor is the most likely cause, it is located in the coolant surge tank.
Question. is the surge tank the plastic tank you pour the coolant into?
Im having the same problem on my 1990 300E. The radiator light comes on then goes off and sometimes flickers....

Once I have located the surge tank what does the sensor look like. Can I do the replacement myself without too many tools...In other words will this be an easy replacement?
Thanks

seafishy
01-14-2007, 12:19 PM
Since I'm not a mechanic I took my car to my MB mechanic and he said it was the sensor and the fill tank had to be replaced because of a small leak along with the hose..

benztech82
01-14-2007, 02:48 PM