Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Oil pressure problems

90laser1.8
09-27-2006, 06:08 PM
Hello... I have as far as i know a stock 1990 plymouth laser 1.8.. and for some reason when i start it up from cold it has great oil pressure... but as the car warms up the oil pressure drops... when its running 3 grand the oil pressure is just clearing the bottum line on the gauge... it is a factory gauge... i can't figure it out... if anyone can help me please do... thank you

Killa
09-27-2006, 07:22 PM
Check the sensor, it might be bad.

90laser1.8
09-27-2006, 07:44 PM
ok... i shoulda mentioned this earlier... i'm mechanically inclined... so if u could also explain how to do it that would be great also... i'm new to this type of vehicle... use to driving a 84 montecarlo.... thanx again...

Blackcrow64
09-28-2006, 12:24 AM
The oil pressure sending unit screws into the bottom of the oil filter housing. Those sending units are the sensors and they do go bad quite often. Also the other problem is that the wire clips are sometimes loose on them and can come unplugged with natural ease. Of course your problem sounds to be a possible bad sending unit.

First I would start the car and let it idle until its to operating temperature and check the gauge. If your oil pressure is lower than it should be at that time then pull the oil fill cap and see if its slinging enough oil up around on the cams and such. If it has plenty of oil slinging around in there and the gauge reads that its too low then that tells us the sending unit is in fact going bad. If there is not enough oil being slung around then that means there is a larger possible problem. (oil pump going bad, oil filter clogged, oil pickup clogged, etc.)

90laser1.8
09-28-2006, 08:31 AM