Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

six speed transmission in a five speed car?

projectgsr
08-21-2006, 11:15 PM
yeah hi everybody i know this might sound like a funny question but since i am completely new to Toyotas (i own an Acura GSR Integra) please cut me slack. i was planning on buying a TT Supra with the 93' to 98' US body style. but i noticed that the later models come with the 6 speed transmissions and so if i decided to save some money and buy a 93' or 94' i would have to settle for a 5 speed. but then before the though came to my mind of just paying the extra money now, i was wondering if you can just swap a 6 speed tranny into a chassis that originally had a 5 speed with little to no modifications. so that is my question: can i easily swap in a 6 speed tranny into a 93' or 94' Supra? assuming of course it wasn't an auto car. thanks in advance for an comments or suggestions.

projectgsr
08-21-2006, 11:24 PM
oh yeah one more thing. would it also be practical to just go ahead and get any supra with that body style and with a manual transmission but with the non turbo motor and then just swap in a 2jz-gte with 6 speed tranny later when i have the cash?

TcmaBoy
08-21-2006, 11:41 PM
You are thinking too hard. If you want the six speed turbo then just buy it to begin with.

projectgsr
08-22-2006, 12:27 AM
no i know your right i'm probably thinking too hard. maybe it's cause i'm mostly a honda/acura guy and most of us are used to motor swaps, frankenstein engines, ect. another thing is that the price is significantly different between like a 93' and a 96'. yeah sure i could wait a few more months and save up but then when your as impatient as i you just want to hurry up and buy a supra. also i'll probably end up doing a jdm motor swap anyways. i just wanted to know what my options are. thanks anyways though.

flyinMKIV
08-23-2006, 04:34 PM