Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Home made carbon fiber stickers

countach79
08-21-2006, 05:04 AM
I have just bought one of the testors decal makers

'Just wondering if its possible to print my own carbon decals??

or will the quality suffer. I am having trouble finding the pattern i want, so i was wondering if the decal maker would do the trick?

Thanks guys for any help!

Svendsen
08-21-2006, 05:47 AM
Have you tried searching for a photo or something? Or got a decal you can scan?

Where did you buy this set? I would like to try it out sometime.

Nutsforcars
08-21-2006, 10:07 AM
I have no experience with this particular decal kit. However, for a while now, I use generic decal paper and my PC/printer.

I do not see why you can't use it for CF patterns. I have used it successfully for seat patterns. Depending on your printer, you might want to try clear and white decal paper to see which one provides the better results.

One word of caution, if you are using an inkjet printer. The ink dissolves in water! In my instructions it said to spray the whole sheet after printing with Krylon Clearcoat. This works well, if you do large decals. For small ones or if you need to cut right to the edge of your pattern, the water will still bleed through the cut into the ink. I have not completely solved this issue but spraying the decal after cutting it out improves it.

Also, because of the additional layers of clearcoat, my home-made decals are not as flexible and thin as the "professional" ones. They do not work as well with Micro-set and Sol.

If you have a laser printer, most of these issues should not be a problem.

f1speeds
08-21-2006, 01:30 PM
Is the decal paper safe to use under color laser printer? or it will jam? any particular setting that I have to careful about?

Nutsforcars
08-21-2006, 05:08 PM
There are two different kinds; one for Laser Printer, one for Inkjet. I don't think they are interchangeable.

blubaja
08-21-2006, 06:21 PM