Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

ball joints: 2000 Grand Prix GTP

Dguindon
08-18-2006, 10:06 AM
Hi All,

This is a great forum! I just signed up yesterday, so I am a newbie.... but I am glad I found this site! I only wish I had found it months ago!

Okay, here is my situation, starting with a little background. I bought my 2000 GTP w/HUD a little over 2 years ago when it had 41k miles on it. It now has 72k miles. I absolutely love this car!

In March of this year I hit a patch of ice turning into my parking lot at work and hit a curb doing about 10-15 mph. This resulted in sheering the driver's side tie rod completely off the car (as in gone and missing).

The dealer replaced the tie rod and everything was fine for a couple of months. Then I bought 4 new tires (Goodyear TripleTreds) and about 2 weeks later while pulling out of work I noticed/smelled burning rubber and white smoke was pouring out from my driver's side rear wheel well. Apparently while parking my car that morning my coil spring decided to snap (an entire "ring" from the coil had broken off), which caused the tire to make contact with the wheel well. Luckily I did not ruin the tire.

The dealer tells me I need to replace the rear coil spring and struts, as well as needing new front/rear rotors and brakes. And he will do it all for only $2k. After shopping around the best price I could find was $1,750. So my DIY hobby began. I am not a mechanic, but I can get by if I have instructions.

So, in summary, I have repaired myself in the past 3 mths:
* front and rear rotors and brakes
* rear coil springs and struts, both sides

Total cost: $500 + wkend time lost :)