Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

help

ooMcLeoDoo
08-07-2006, 11:13 AM
hi all,srry if icaused any inconvinience.

may i get some help,i want to build any luxary car,im a biginer,i want to paint it and make it highly detailed.(:screwy: im a physco:screwy: )
caany one suggest a kit,im in the UAE,Middle East.

what so u think of this tool ?is it handy?or not worth it?if not plz suggest one.
http://www.thecooltool.com/produktgruppe.php?language=e&status=20&sh_id=15&ptitel=Unimat+Classic
http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/tools/843d/
:icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16: :icon16:

porschenut
08-07-2006, 12:56 PM
The tool that you are on about is very expensive, however, i am no expert on lathes and stuff, but it may be good value, however also of little use to a complete beginner. Also, with regards to a kit, It depends on what you want, because you should chose a kit that you like the look of, and we can reccomend kits, but I for one dont really know whats avaliable where you live, and i can say kits, but they might not be avaliable to you. Look around the forum and see what you like the look of, then see what other think of it. And go from there, look in shops and on the internet for the kit you want and buy it.
For a sedan i'd reccomend a FUJUMI LEXUS LS400
Just my opinion, as when i built one it was a good kit, but i think they are hard to find, so i dont really know.
I hope this helps
Euan

Lusitano
08-08-2006, 07:01 AM
Hi there!

I would recommend against buying a mini lathe such as the one you provided in the link.
Being a beginner, there is so much more that you can buy for the amount of cash that a Unimat 1 costs: good tools, a proper airbrush/compressor setup, etc.
Expensive tools *will not* get you great results without practice.:shakehead