Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

flooding

mymgb
06-28-2006, 12:11 PM
my 75 continually floods leading to starting problems, as Im new to the mgb world, Im considering replacing the carb with something a little more reliable, it currently has a zenith with an auto choke...any suggestions?

Flash75
06-28-2006, 02:54 PM
Before spending lots of money on some different carburetors it's a good idea to try repairing what you have. The ZS carburetor is adequate and will run OK if it is in good condition. Changing to anything else will require a different exhaust manifold unless you try to find a SU HIF 6, expensive.

Below are two links that will help you sort out your problems.
http://www.paulbunyan.net/~jasko/choke/
http://www.triumphspitfire.com/carbs.html
I know one of the links is a Spitfire link but the carburetors are very similar.

I don't have recent hands on experience, so I'm going to ask John E. to contact you, he has an MGB with a working ZS carburetor that he sorted out with a few parts and some diligent work. John is very helpful and doesn't mind sharing his knowledge with others. Good luck.

Clifton

jdemgb
06-28-2006, 06:06 PM
mymgb,

I'm the John E. that Clifton referenced. I have a Zenith carb, and I've experienced the flooding you describe. Before I start spouting out solutions, could you tell me when is it flooding i.e. when you come to a stop light? When you're running? After you've stopped?

Also, do you have the mixture adjustment tool yet?

I hope I can help. My Zenith runs fine now without continuous adjustment. A lot of people will tell you to get another carb, but you'll have to have a new manifold and maybe some exaust modification, which can get expensive. You can probably sort out your problems in the short term fairly inexpensively, if you want to save some money, and then change it out later if you're still not satisfied.

I'll be glad to help if you want to take a run at it.

John

mymgb
06-29-2006, 10:56 AM
mymgb,