Our Community is 705,000 Strong. Join Us.

While Driving...the engines Stops suddenly

Joe the Big
06-28-2006, 12:06 PM
Dear all of you who read this.

This is my first time I own a Honda and last time. I really do not like Honda (at least Honda Oddyssey). Many problems...but this is the worst.

While driving in the highway the engine stops suddenly. Three mechanics said: "nothing is happening to the car" . They said that after plugging the computer to the Van and driving it for a while. (Of course..Murphys Law...the car never stops with the mechanic..it always happen when you are alone).

I do not want to take tha car to the delaer because I am sure they are going to take a lot of money from me after placing the computer again jus to tell me that nothing is happening to the car. In addititon to this they are going to provide me with a BIG LIST OF RECOMENDATIONS of things that the car needs ..that it really doesn't.

Does anyone have an idea of what is going on?? I do not trust the car any more.

Thanks in advance...

Regards,

duodad
06-30-2006, 10:04 PM
What year is your van? It would make a big difference if it's a '95 or an '05. Any other details? Strange sounds or flickering lights? How frequent is the failure?

Joe the Big
07-01-2006, 11:38 AM
The Car is 1999.

The firts light that appears is a Green one where a Black key is shown. I understand is the ignition light. After taht many lights appear at the same time.

I hope you can help me. The car has 70,000 miles and the firs time it happens was 3 months ago. After that it happens one a week.

Thanks very much,

Regards,

duodad
07-01-2006, 03:23 PM
Refer to bulletin 02-031. This is a safety recall so there is no mileage expiration.

This bulletin basically says the ignition contacts wear out and the engine stalls. 97-00 Odysseys are affected-but not all. Make sure you contact your nearest dealer and give them your VIN so they can confirm coverage.