Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

2 quick questions

hshawn31
06-23-2006, 03:00 PM
I am going to replace my spark plugs. Any brand(s) i should stay away from? Are there any that make the friggin tick any quieter?

Also, I am going to replace my fuel filter this weekend...i have the haynes manual but i'm too lazy to read it right now. Is this going to be a pain in the butt?

1995 Rodeo 4x4
3.2L V6

Ramblin Fever
06-23-2006, 05:42 PM
NGK plugs.

What do you mean quieter - lifter tick?

What kind of oil filter and oil viscosity are you running?

marcre
06-23-2006, 06:13 PM
as far as the spark plugs, I'd go with what the manual recommends.

For the tick, I have no experience with a 95 as I have a 99, but, maybe try auto RX on it. When I got my Rodeo two years ago there was a ticking sound at highway speed, especially when I punched the throttle. I didn't think much about it, I actually thought it was coming from the dash area. I used seafoam in my engine a couple times and the noise hasn't come back. I used Auto RX last summer as well. Actually, I just dumped a bottle in my Rodeo this afternoon as well.

I will say this, I burn less oil now than I did when I first got the Rodeo. Take that for what it's worth, because I have done all of the routine maintenance on the Rodeo as well.

About the Auto RX, I don't know if it works, I am no expert. But, all the people at BITOG claiming it as great seems nice, as do all of the people who are really into it that pull their engines apart to show the before and after pics. I really believe products are more beneficial to certain engines as apposed to others. My engine seems to have benefitted from seafoam and Auto RX.