Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

oil in sparkplug wires

johns97328i
05-25-2006, 05:08 PM
Just bought a 93 Accord with 160,000 miles last week. Today I pulled a spark plug wire off one of the sparkplugs in the engine and found a sizable amount of oil on the end of wire. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm thinking the valve cover gasket is bad. I'm looking for any kind of help.
Thanks,
John

somick
05-25-2006, 06:28 PM
I have not done it myself, but from other posts I know that when you replace valve cover gasket you should be able to replace spark plugs seals. Should not be very hard. I have even made a word file for myself. I think I found it on hondahookups site. People cursing there pretty bad, but they have some write ups for maintenance etc.
I was going to attach a file but could not find how to do it. So I will just copy and paste itl

Spark Plug Seals Replacement

there are 2 sets of seals that can cause oil in spark plug wires,,

the upper seals located on the underside of the valve cover

the lower seals located below the rocker arm assembly.

let's do the upper seals first..

parts you need: valve cover gasket, upper plug seals, honda bond

Tools you need : 10 mm socket, short extension, rachet.

Remove the valve cover, flip it upside down, there are 4 rubber seals located in the cover, replace those seals, install new valve cover gasket, put a slight film of honda bond on the plug seals where it would meet the head and on the curved ends of the valve cover, put all together...

The lower seals are a bit harder to do..

along with the other parts listed above

parts you need : 4 lower rocker arm seals

along with the tools listed above

tools needed: 12 mm wrench, 12, 19 mm sockets,long extension, magic marker, medium to large flat tip screwdriver, torque wrench ( foot lbs).